Scientific Advisory Board

The governance of HudsonAlpha is carried out through the actions of two boards, the board of directors and the scientific advisory board. The authority for maintaining the institute’s founding purpose and the determinations of all other scientific matters is vested in the HudsonAlpha Scientific Advisory Board.

A world-class research institute must have a world-class Scientific Advisory Board. Seven uniquely skilled and internationally known investigators have agreed to serve in this capacity.

In addition, the HudsonAlpha Institute for Biotechnology expects to appoint investigators whose research focus aligns with the overall institute goals. The institute would expect to expand on the research and findings gained by HudsonAlpha Institute for Biotechnology investigators to insure that products aimed at helping patients would be commercialized as rapidly as possible.

The director of the institute will oversee the selection process, with guidance from the scientific advisory board, associate companies and/or members of the board of directors.

Geoffrey Duyk M.D., Ph.D.
Managing Director and Partner, TPG Alternative and Renewable Technologies/TPG Biotechnology


Thomas Hudson, M.D.
President and Scientific Director, Ontario Institute for Cancer Research and Director, P3G (Public Population Project in Genomics)


Tom Maniatis, Ph.D.
Isidore S. Edelman Professor and Chairman of the department of biochemistry and molecular biophysics, Columbia University Medical Center and co-founder, New York Genome Center


Val Sheffield, M.D., Ph.D.
Howard Hughes Medical Investigator, and Director of the Division of Medical Genetics at the University of Iowa


Barbara Wold, Ph.D.
Director of the Beckman Institute, and Professor of Molecular Biology, California Institute of Technology

Deborah Nickerson, Ph.D.

Leif Andersson, Ph.D.